Introduction to Marijuana and Opioid Pharmacology

Introduction to Marijuana and Opioid Pharmacology 

Training provided by the SAMHSA's Center for the Application of Prevention Technologies 

This training will be offered to WA State prevention providers and focuses on Marijuana and Opioid Pharmacology.  Training in the area of pharmacology is a requirement to apply to become a Certified Prevention Professional in WA State.  Please take advantage of this online training!

Audience

Washington’s Partnerships for Success and Block Grant grantees and community-level substance misuse prevention practitioners 

Description

Preventing the misuse of marijuana and opioids is a priority for the State of Washington: Washington recently legalized recreational marijuana and opioid use is one of the state’s new focus areas. These two 90-minute, interactive webinars will introduce participants to the pharmacology of these substances, highlighting both their acute and long-term effects. The first course will focus on marijuana pharmacology while the second course will highlight opioid pharmacology. Specifically, we will explore the changes each substance produces in the body, and how these changes influence psychomotor and cognitive performance, and other associated health risks. Both sessions will provide opportunities for participants to interact, share information, and discuss the impact of marijuana and opioid use in their communities.

This is a 2 part virtual training

Part 1

  • Date: Tuesday, September 5, 2017
  • Time: 4:00pm to 5:30pm EDT / 3:00pm to 4:30pm CDT / 2:00pm to 3:30pm MDT / 1:00pm to 2:30pm PDT
  • Duration: 1 hours, 30 minutes

Part 2

  • Date: Wednesday, September 6, 2017
  • Time: 4:00pm to 5:30pm EDT / 3:00pm to 4:30pm CDT / 2:00pm to 3:30pm MDT / 1:00pm to 2:30pm PDT
  • Duration: 1 hours, 30 minutes

Presenter(s)

Angela Broadus, Ph.D.
Angela is a professor and researcher at Texas Juvenile Crime Prevention Center at Prairie View A&M University. She brings eight years of experience teaching online and face-to-face classes on substance use disorders and child development at the University of Nevada, Reno, as well as experience as a professional community trainer. Her current research includes development of the Public Attitudes about Addiction Scale (PAAS) and a statewide assessment of juvenile prevention needs in Texas.

Certificates of Participation

Registered participants who attend CAPT events will be able to access a certificate of participation in PDF format for the duration of each event. We invite participants to submit these certificates to the substance abuse prevention credentialing board in their state, tribe, or jurisdiction. Please note that it is up to the individual credentialing board to determine if these hours are acceptable for professional credentialing or re-certification.

How to Register?

Visit the event's page at CAPT Connect and click the "Register" button next to a date and time. If you already have an account you will be asked to log in, otherwise you will need to complete a user profile in order to confirm your event registration.

Questions?

Please contact Clarissa Lam Yuen (clamyuen@casat.org) for any questions related to registration. For any other questions, please contact Janet Porter (jporter@casat.org). Please put the event date in the subject of your email so that we can better respond to your inquiry.

Category: 
Training
Location: 
Webinar / Virtual

 


^ Back to Top